The Industry Source for New Age, World, Ambient, Electronic, Solo Piano, Relaxation, Instrumental and many other genres of Music
review board:  View all reviews Submit your own reviews
Journeyscapes by Candice Michelle
Other reviews from Journeyscapes by Candice Michelle:
  Mosaic by David Wahler, reviewed by Candice Michelle on 8/4/2018
  Chromatones by Darlene Koldenhoven, reviewed by Candice Michelle on 8/2/2018
  Colors of the Ambient Sky by David Arkenstone, reviewed by Candice Michelle on 7/14/2018
<<-later reviews | earlier reviews->>   <<- all reviews ->>
Prelude to a Dream
By Shoshana Michel
Label: Self Released
Released 9/8/2017
Prelude to a Dream tracks
1. Wonders
2. Prelude to a Dream
3. A Walk in the Rain
4. Butterfly Kisses
5. Tender Words
6. Kaleidoscope
7. Applewood
8. Meditation
9. A Most Precious Gift
10. Silent Farewell
11. Ethereal
Mesmerizing, peaceful, solo piano music!
Prelude to a Dream is the third solo piano album by Shoshana Michael and her second album as a composer. Her debut album, Soul Whispers, featured arrangements of Chabad nigunim, a collection of songs of Jewish Eastern European origin. Inspired by the overwhelming response to her second album, Dancing on the Wind, Shoshana continued composing original music. Within a few months, Prelude to a Dream was completed, an equally compelling recording comprised of 11 compositions spanning 51 minutes.

The opening piece, “Wonder”, begins almost entirely in the upper register before making its way down toward the middle range of the piano, effectively bringing-to-mind the early music of David Lanz – in particular, his landmark album Nightfall. Following next is the title piece, “Prelude to a Dream” – one of my favorite passages on the album. Definitively neo-classical and played in minor key, this lovely composition is characterized by a left-hand ostinato figure that moves through the entire song, as each note beautifully reverberates throughout what feels like the halls of an old mansion or castle. “A Walk in the Rain” ensues in the style of a modern ballad, which effectively recalls Jim Brickman’s earliest works. Another favorite, “Kaleidoscope”, is a particularly notable piece that bears strong reminiscence to George Winston’s music. Sounding as if being played on a minor-key music-box, it seemingly exudes a whimsically haunting and childlike innocence. The softly mesmerizing and subtly exotic, “Ethereal”, concludes the album on a quiet note – its phrases drawing to mind the music of Aeoliah’s piano album Chambers of the Heart – a comparison of which is an utmost compliment.

Although Shoshana Michel has only recently made a splash in the piano world as a composer, Prelude to a Dream likewise proves that she has quickly anchored herself alongside some of her finest contemporaries!
Rating: Very Good +   Very Good +
- reviewed by Candice Michelle on 11/9/2017
Site Map     *     Privacy Policy     *     Terms of Use     *     Contact Us
Core Solutions, LLC