Search
The Industry Source for New Age, World, Ambient, Electronic, Solo Piano, Relaxation, Instrumental and many other genres of Music
review board:  View all reviews Submit your own reviews
New Age Music Reviews
New Age Music Reviews is an independent music review service contributer to ZMR. Click here to learn more about them.
Other reviews from New Age Music Reviews:
  Colors of the Ambient Sky by David Arkenstone, reviewed by Keith MuzikMan Hannaleck on 8/11/2018
  Fearless by Cecilie, reviewed by Keith MuzikMan Hannaleck on 8/8/2018
  Carpe Noctem by Peter Calandra, reviewed by Keith MuzikMan Hannaleck on 7/23/2018
<<-later reviews | earlier reviews->>   <<- all reviews ->>
Parting Is
By Jon Durant
Label: Alchemy Records
Released 1/18/2018
Parting Is tracks
1. Clouds in Advance
2. Open Window
3. Travels Within
4. The Room Where She Waits
5. Before the Rain Falls
6. Evolve in Place
7. Ecliptic Shadows
8. Returning to the Departure
9. Willamette Fog
This music lives and breathes
When I heard the name Jon Durant it made me think, I know that name. I also felt like I had heard a similar sound somewhere. That is quite likely however as it turns out when I had the muzikreviews.com site running, one of my staff covered the Colin Edwin and Jon Durant release Burnt Belief. That was in December 2012.

What I really can appreciate in the music industry is artists helping artists. That is exactly what Jon does on his own Alchemy Records. Who understands a musician more than one of their own? Today this is commonplace and it should have happened eons ago. With that being said, Jon knows how to create some of his own significant pieces of music as well.

Parting Is (such sweet sorrow?) the latest release by Jon. It came out in the middle of January 2018. He uses no synths on this recording (you could have fooled me), which I found quite astounding.

Jon uses a broad selection of PRS (Paul Reed Smith) guitars which includes an electric 12 string, cloud guitar, Koll Tornado fretless guitar, Klein electric guitar, and the Spector Fretless bass. With this amazing array of electrified guitars, the talented Mr. Durant takes guitar-based music to another place. It is like taking a journey into unchartered waters or space beyond our own galaxy. As this artist explores these new soundscapes you will find yourself wondering how this was all this was accomplished on Parting Is. I believe the cloud guitars are the instruments that create the synth sounds, that just makes sense to me.

When you look at the cover art of this recording you wonder what Jon is trying to convey. I think most artists are sending a message with the cover art although some just like using certain colors or a fancy image they saw. As simplistic as this image seems it does tell a story, a developing story. I see peacefulness that has an impending change, the calm before the storm? Parting Is what? Perhaps parting from the serene colors that the picture shows and the grey (area?) clouds signaling that the rain is coming or a violent storm. But there is light shining through the darkness which gives you hope. Is this a reflection of life itself? We can see things are looking terribly dreary then suddenly a light comes shining through to cast out the darkness and bring things back into focus. This my own personal musical hypothesis, surely everyone would have their own.

I really enjoy the process that an artist can present with art and music. The music on this nine-track CD is beautiful, elegant, haunting, and most importantly, full of musical emotion and colorful imagery. This music lives and breathes and tells the story, but the best part is it can be your story, just look a little further, inside the music…

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
May. 18, 2018

Founder of:
MuzikMan Productions
MuzikMan Reviews
Write A Music Review
Prog Rock Music Talk
New Age Music Reviews
Rate The Tracks

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews
Rating: Very Good +   Very Good +
- reviewed by Keith MuzikMan Hannaleck on 5/19/2018
 
Site Map     *     Privacy Policy     *     Terms of Use     *     Contact Us
Core Solutions, LLC