The Industry Source for New Age, World, Ambient, Electronic, Solo Piano, Relaxation, Instrumental and many other genres of Music
review board:  View all reviews Submit your own reviews
New Age Music Reviews
New Age Music Reviews is an independent music review service contributer to ZMR. Click here to learn more about them.
Other reviews from New Age Music Reviews:
  You're the One by Brian Hagen, reviewed by Keith MuzikMan Hannaleck on 11/9/2018
  Reality of Dreams by Dulce Joya, reviewed by Keith MuzikMan Hannaleck on 11/5/2018
  Piano and Night by Brian Crain, reviewed by Keith MuzikMan Hannaleck on 11/5/2018
<<-later reviews | earlier reviews->>   <<- all reviews ->>
Ring Around the Moon
By Richard Dillon
Label: Self Released
Released 10/15/2014
Ring Around the Moon tracks
1. Groundhog Saw His Shadow
2. Ring Around the Moon
3. December Sunset
4. Dying of the Light
5. Midnight Sleigh Ride
6. First Snow
7. Dreaming of Hawaii
8. January Moon
9. February
10. Walking through the Woods on a Snowy Evening
11. Scattering of Stars
12. Whiteout
13. Hot Cocoa by the Fire
Just In Time To Make Winter Official
This is my third Richard Dillon album I have covered this year. Previously I had the pleasure of hearing and commenting on Irish Mist and The Land of Nod Lullabies for the Listless.

Now I get to turn the clock back to 2014 and enjoy Ring Around The Moon. This comes at the right time of year. Although you folks that live where the sun is shining and its warm may not feel the same hearing this music, you have my personal guarantee it will warm your soul.

One look at the cover of Ring Around The Moon and you can feel the cold crisp Winter air hitting your face. The moon shines brightly like a nighttime sun and the ring emanates around it like something spiritual and magnificent. This is something so simple yet so beautiful and amazing…only if you take the time to look at it and let it infuse your spirit. The same goes for the music you hear on this recording.

The 13 tracks on Ring Around The Moon are naturally connected just like the moon and the stars are connected to mother earth and all its inhabitants. I know the joy of “Walking Through the Woods On a Snowy Evening” and getting home for “Hot Cocoa By the Fire.” There is some magic and truthfulness in this music. I live in the perfect setting for this music and I found an instant connection just looking at the track list before I listened. New England has four seasons, each one offering its own distinctness.

“Scattering of Stars” I found quite stirring, with its changing paces and sentiments flowing through me. It reminded me of the saying “Stardust We Are.” How pure and true the meaning of all this music came to me. This is the way instrumental music should affect you. Its authority and majesty just glide from one track to the next, owning the titles the creator gave them. It is just the way it was meant to be.

Ring Around The Moon encapsulates the Winter season and everything you can enjoy about it. There is beauty in the eyes of the beholder, if in fact those eyes are clear and see what is in front of them. Sometimes it takes a little nudge from talent like Richard Dillon to make you see it all.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
December 22, 2017

Founder of:
MuzikMan Productions
MuzikMan Reviews
Write A Music Review
Prog Rock Music Talk
New Age Music Reviews
Rate The Tracks

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

01. Groundhog Saw His Shadow
02. Ring Around the Moon
03. December Sunset
04. Dying of the Light
05. Midnight Sleigh Ride
06. First Snow
07. Dreaming of Hawaii
08. January Moon
09. February
10. Walking Through the Woods On a Snowy Evening
11. Scattering of Stars
12. Whiteout
13. Hot Cocoa By the Fire
Rating: Very Good +   Very Good +
- reviewed by Keith MuzikMan Hannaleck on 12/22/2017
Site Map     *     Privacy Policy     *     Terms of Use     *     Contact Us
Core Solutions, LLC